“An Enquiry Into Modes of Existence”

Via Ian Bogost on twitter, the latest book from Bruno Latour: http://www.bruno-latour.fr/node/252

Seems like a kind of magnum opus really.

The phrase “modes of existence” reminds me of Simondon’s work on the “mode of existence of the technical object”, so I guess Latour is working with that as an analogy, or something similar.

Anyway this looks like a massive piece of work that will simultaneously summarise what Latour has been working on for the last couple of decades – in the way that “Reassembling the Social” just didn’t! – as well as setting an agenda for “Latourian” enquiry for a good few years to come.

I was very interested, and conflicted, to read his essay in the recent Nordhaus & Schellenberger edited collection Love your Monsters  – I wanted to hate this book because it seemed like the kind of classic sell-out to capitalist values over green values that I have opposed for years, but in the end I felt that Latour, and others, made a pretty good case and that we may need to go down this kind of pragmatist approach in order to survive the Anthropocene. I can’t believe I am writing this, but anyway.

I wonder if the “very original purpose built digital platform” basically means a website, though?

2 thoughts on ““An Enquiry Into Modes of Existence”

Add your comments:

